synced 1 MIN AGO
01 Record

CVE-2026-12391

ubuntu-pro-client Local Privilege Escalation and Information Disclosure via Symlink Arbitrary File Read in collect-logs

MediumPUBLISHEDCNA: canonical
CNA base score5.0 CVSS v3.xCVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:N/A:N

02 Description

ubuntu-pro-client Local Privilege Escalation and Information Disclosure via Symlink Arbitrary File Read in collect-logs

03 Exploitation and scoring

Exploitation
Assessed, none found. CISA's assessment recorded neither public exploit code nor evidence of exploitation when it was made.
SSVC decision
  • ExploitationnoneCISA recorded no public exploit code and no evidence of exploitation.
  • AutomatablenoAt least one step from reconnaissance to exploitation cannot be reliably automated.
  • Technical ImpactpartialSuccessful exploitation gives limited control of the vulnerable component.
CISA publishes the decision points, not a final SSVC decision. The decision also depends on mission and well-being impact, which is a property of your deployment rather than of the vulnerability.
EPSS probability
0.20% probability of exploitation activity in the next 30 days.
EPSS percentile
Equal to or higher than the score of 10.5% of scored records. A rank, not a probability.
NVD base score
5.0 (CVSS v3.x), scored by the NVD independently of the CNA.
NVD CVSS vector
CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:N/A:N
NVD analysis status
Awaiting Analysis. NVD last modified this record on 2026-07-16.
Red Hat severity
No Red Hat rating. Red Hat rates the CVEs that affect its products.

Exploit-prediction scores from FIRST. Independent scoring and analysis status from the NVD. Vendor severity from Red Hat. Exploitation assessment and catalog membership from CISA.

04 Metadata

Published
2026-07-16 12:17Z3 MO AGO
Last updated
2026-07-16 13:28Z3 MO AGO
Reserved
2026-06-16
Assigning CNA
canonical
Record state
PUBLISHED
Severity
Medium (CVSS 5.0)
CNA CVSS vector
CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:N/A:N
Weaknesses
  • CWE-59Improper Link Resolution Before File Access ('Link Following')Base
Data version
5.2
Document digest
6f2127c93d13ebf636fac2167112f0878081edc53357daf48cd3ed7bfaf12c23

05 Affected products

VendorProductVersionsPlatforms
CanonicalUbuntu 26.04 LTSNot specifiedLinux
CanonicalUbuntu 24.04 LTSNot specifiedLinux
CanonicalUbuntu 22.04 LTSNot specifiedLinux
CanonicalUbuntu 20.04 LTSNot specifiedLinux
CanonicalUbuntu 18.04 LTSNot specifiedLinux
CanonicalUbuntu 16.04 LTSNot specifiedLinux

06 References

07 Fixed in

Ubuntu 22.04 LTS

  • ubuntu-advantage-tools
    Fixed in 37.2ubuntu~22.04.1

Source: Ubuntu, Canonical Ltd. Licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0. Received through OSV.dev. Reformatted by exploit.cc.

Ubuntu 24.04 LTS

  • ubuntu-advantage-tools
    Fixed in 37.2ubuntu~24.04.1

Source: Ubuntu, Canonical Ltd. Licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0. Received through OSV.dev. Reformatted by exploit.cc.

Ubuntu 25.10

  • ubuntu-advantage-tools
    No fix yet

Source: Ubuntu, Canonical Ltd. Licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0. Received through OSV.dev. Reformatted by exploit.cc.

Ubuntu 26.04 LTS

  • ubuntu-advantage-tools
    Fixed in 37.2ubuntu0.1

Source: Ubuntu, Canonical Ltd. Licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0. Received through OSV.dev. Reformatted by exploit.cc.

A release or ecosystem missing from this list has no record here. It may be unaffected or not covered by the source. Source notices and licences.